Home

Cup of tea or...The calm before the storm

I’m sat in the quiet of our kitchen – just me and a cup of tea. Bliss. Normally I love mornings like this. I wake before the kids, get showered and dressed and have a bit of me-time before the Monday mayhem starts…

But this morning is a little different. For the first time in six weeks, my daughter slept through the night. My partner, however, did not. He was supposed to get up at 4 anyway to go to work but he’d been up all night being sick. And instead he woke me at 5.30 to ring the emergency doctor as he felt so ill.

And now I’m feeling a little aggrieved.

Plate-spinning duties again

I have so much to do today: get both kids ready and out by 8.30, one to school (and right now he’s not wanting to go to school most days) and the other to nursery. They are incidentally at opposite ends of town. I’ve then got to drive to Hebden Bridge – the next town along – to meet our homeopath as I’ve been giving my daughter my remedies and vice versa so need to pick up some replacements. Then I’ve got to submit an article to a nutrition magazine on pre-conception care. (Oh, did I mention I got accepted on to the mentoring scheme for Nutrition I-Mag? No, oh another time then…) Before then picking up both kids, taking them to the dentist then picking up some furniture for a neighbour in Rochdale.

Yes, you’re right. Something’s got to give. The question is what…

And you’re right again. Really must wake up the kids now – only an hour to get them ready and out. I may have to give up my peace and quiet but at least I got to drink my lovely cup of Earl Grey!

Leave a comment